Monday, January 26, 2015

Five Stages of Falling in Love By Rachel Higginson

Five Stages of Falling in Love

By Rachel Higginson


Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell-also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died six months ago from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

The Five Stages of Falling in Love
By Rachel Higginson
Review by Heidi Lynn
First, I would like to thank NetGalley, Rachel Higginson, and Mark My Words Book Publicity for providing me with this book so that I may bring you this review.

Within the first chapter Rachel had me hooked line and sinker into the book. The water works started when you realize not every story holds a happy beginning. Keep the tissues handy.  This was Liz’s story. She had already met her soul mate in Grady, fallen in love with him, and lived her happily ever after. This is not a story of Liz falling in love. It is a story of her learning to live again after love left her life.

I grew to care about each one of the characters for what they brought to the table. Needless to say Grady’s loss left a huge inpact on each of the characters. Liz was very overwhelmed with grief and raising her four kids alone. Emma, Liz’s sister, was her rock since Grady passed away! There were some very touching moments between Liz and her kids that pulled on my heart strings. Ben, I totally admired. He knew how hard it was for Liz and the kids to move on from their loss. Ben was very supportive, understanding, empathetic, patient, amazing with her kids, and overall great guy.

Liz was blessed to find her soulmate once in Grady. What she didn’t expect to find was the blossoming friendship with Ben. It was like Grady hand picked him to watch over his family.

I enjoyed reading the book so much that I didn’t want to put the book down. I rate The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson 5 out of 5 kisses.

Rachel Higginson is the creator of The Star-Crossed Series, Love & Decay Novella Series, The Starbright Series, The Siren Series, Bet on Us and the soon to be released, The Five Stages of Falling in Love! She is also the co-creator of the podcast "Zach & Rachel Take Over the World." 

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days raising four amazing kids. In the few spare moments she has to herself, she is either reading for hours on end or writing her own stories. 

You can visit Rachel at

No comments:

Post a Comment