Monday, August 25, 2014

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Hard to Hold on to by Laura Kaye


We are so excited to bring you the Release Day Launch for Laura Kaye's HARD TO HOLD ON TO! HARD TO HOLD ON TO is a Contemporary Romance filled with suspense and is a novella in the Hard Ink Series, published by Avon Impulse (an imprint of HarperCollins). And if this novella weren't hot enough on its own, Laura is donating 100% of her proceeds from the first two weeks' sales to a national non-profit organization that assists veterans transitioning back to civilian life!!

  Hard To Hold On To

Amazon | | Amazon UK | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

EXCERPT: Easy tugged down the covers and gestured for Jenna to get in. She chose the side that would allow her to lie on the uninjured side of her face. “After what you’ve been through, I don’t want to do anything that makes you feel uncomfortable,” Easy said. Propping herself on an elbow, Jenna shook her head. “You won’t. You’re the—” She blanched as if she hadn’t meant to say whatever she’d nearly said. Which made Easy need to know. He crawled on the bed as if lured by the words. “Finish. That. Sentence.” She eased back onto the pillow, red hair sprawling around her shoulders like silk, and stared up at him. And it took everything Easy had not to settle himself on top of her and tease the words out with his hands and tongue. “The only one who makes me feel safe," she whispered. Satisfaction humming through him, Easy turned and stretched out on his back. Because if he kept looking at her while she was looking at him like that, he might not be able to restrain himself from having what he wanted. A taste. A chance. None of which she was in any shape for. And given the shitstorm in his head, probably neither was he. “Good. That’s good,” he murmured, blowing out a long breath. Damn, he was tired. Not just because he hadn’t slept much the night before. But because of the size of the load he’d been shouldering for the past twelve-plus months. If he could only figure out how to put it down. He scrubbed his hands over his face, wishing he could shake himself out of this fucking slump. If Rimes were here, he’d kick Easy’s ass for being such a morose motherfucker. But he wasn’t here. Which was the damn problem in a nutshell. He dropped his arms to the bed and peered over at Jenna. She lay on her side facing him, hand tucked under her chin, not looking the least bit settled or relaxed. “Whatchu need?” “You.” She spoke the word without any hesitation, any doubt, any seeming self-consciousness. “Have me, Jenna. Whatever you want,” he said, his cock stirring no matter how hard he reined himself in. Holding his gaze, she moved closer until her head rested on his shoulder and her body trapped his arm between them. And, suddenly, she wasn’t fucking close enough. “Here,” he whispered, lifting his arm and inviting her closer. And damn if his heart didn’t soar when she fitted herself the rest of the way against him, her face against his throat, her breasts against his ribs, her leg curling up onto his thigh. He wasn’t sure whose sigh was louder. All Easy knew was that this was the first time in more than a year he didn’t feel alone. Wrapping his arm around her, he couldn’t resist squeezing her in just a little closer. “Thank you,” she whispered, her breath ticklish against his neck. He laced his fingers between hers where they rested on his chest. “I gotchu. You just close your eyes and know I’m here.”  

Did you have a favorite line? Thanks for reading!

  HTHOT Teaser About Hard To Hold On To: Edward "Easy" Cantrell knows better than most the pain of not being able to save those he loves—which is why he is not going to let Jenna Dean out of his sight. He may have just met her, but Jenna's the first person to make him feel alive since that devastating day in the desert more than a year ago. Jenna has never met anyone like Easy. She can't describe how he makes her feel--and not just because he saved her life. No, the stirrings inside her reach far beyond gratitude. As the pair are thrust together while chaos reigns around them, they both know one thing: the things in life most worth having are the hardest to hold on to.  

Hard to Hold On To on Goodreads

  LK Donation Promo Final 2   Men of Hard Ink
Other Books in the Hard Ink Series:
Hard to Come By (11/25/14)
Hard to Be Good (3/10/15)
Untitled (7/28/15)
Praise for the Hard Ink Series: For Hard As You Can: "TOP PICK! There is a sinister and desperate edge to this tale that will keep readers glued to their seats. Kaye has dark romantic suspense nailed!" ~ RT Book Reviews Magazine "Hard As You Can is another five star read. The characters Ms. Kaye has created are wonderfully broken and the drama is gritty, but the burgeoning romance and the tight-knitted relationship of the team leaves you with a sense of redemption. A must read series!" ~San Francisco Book Review For Hard As It Gets: "Edgy, sexy and full of suspense! A great read from a great new author!" ~ #1 NYT Bestselling Author J.R. Ward "Sizzling romance... The intriguing tattoo parlor and military background will appeal to fans of Suzanne Brockmann and Lindsay McKenna." ~Publishers Weekly Review "Kaye's depiction of sexual tension and her sex scenes are masterful and this will appeal to fans of Maya Banks' KGI and Julia Ann Walker's Black Knight's series." ~Booklist   Author PhotoAbout Laura Kaye: Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over a dozen books in contemporary and paranormal romance. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.      

a Rafflecopter giveaway


First of all I want to thank Avon books, Laura Kaye, and Edelweiss for allowing us the opportunity to bring you this review.

The first words that come to mind when I was reading this book were, incredible, amazing, impacting. Laura Kaye did such a wonderful job bringing us Edward "Easy" Cantrell's story. To get to see into his head and the pain he suffers with survivors guilt. The dark thoughts that go through his mind. They are so real, so close to the feelings that someone in that frame of mind feels. The way that Jenna helps him even though she is going through her own dark times. The fact that Easy brings Jenna that feeling of safety and protection even if his own thoughts don't allow him to see that. The way that in a very short period of time they grow close and help each other start that climb out of the darkness, its all just so deep. I loved the fact that Easy starts to learn, understand and depend on those around him, his brothers in arms, his makeshift family. It shows how much they've been through and depend on each other. Laura Kaye does a fantastic job bringing us a side that many of us forget or don't even realize exist for men and women in uniform.

On a side note I have to say that the statistics are incredible on how many vets and active duty military men and women take their own lives due to PTSD and survivors guilt. On a personal note since I have a very close set of friends who are active duty and a number of other friends who are vets this story hit deep into my heart.

Remember Thank a Vet or Active Duty military man/woman for the price they pay to help keep us free and bring freedom to others.

Happy Reading... Adri

Sarah's Review:
Thanks to Laura Kaye, Avon books and Edelweiss for allowing our blog to continue promoting the Hard Ink series.   I have been a fan of Laura's work for a while now, so as soon as I see that there will be a new book, I instantly jump on it.   The Hard Ink series is no different.  This series has a different perspective for me.  As a social worker that works with Veterans, this series has been an enlightening experience since Laura does her best to make sure that reality of what Veterans face is what makes me want to continue to support Laura's work.

Easy has been one of my favorite character's from the beginning.  There is something about Easy that makes him someone that I want to know.  His protectiveness of Jenna right from the beginning.  His loyalty to his crew.  There was something about Easy that made me realize that he was hiding something and that something is survivor's guilt.  This is something real and something that is not only applicable to Veterans.

Jenna was introduced in Hard as You Can.  She became a vital part of that story as well as the heroine of this story.  I love Jenna's spunk and that she is a spitfire!  Even though she has a potential deadly health condition if not treated properly, she is willing to protect her family, even if it means that she is harmed in the course of protecting them.

This story is one that address that 22 Veterans commit suicide every day.  When you think about that, how scary is that?  There are Veterans that are not able to get the treatment that they need because of many different reasons.  Since this is a review of the book, I won't go into the many reasons.  However, the fact that Laura brought this matter to the forefront and did it justice by not glorifying it.  This is the area that I want to work with because these Veterans need someone that can have people to turn to without fear of judgment and have supportive people out there.                         

1 comment:

  1. I love Laura! It's no surprise that she is donating proceeds to a good cause!