Wednesday, March 26, 2014

REVIEW: Third Degree by Julie Cross

Third Degree

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this novel about coming of age in the heat of the moment from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Advance praise for Third Degree

“I loved every. Damn. Second of Third Degree. Isabel and Marshall are so intense yet so lost at the same time, and that’s exactly what I love about this novel.”New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Emma Hart

“I love a book that makes me forget all about the real world and sends me on a journey with its characters.”Turning Pages

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series

Adri's Review:

Firstly,I would like to thank Random House and NetGalley for approving us to review this story. 

The way that the character Isabel is written is actually quite interesting. Though she is so young she is written with a lot a maturity, with still being able to have her true age show. Maybe the fact that she is such a prodigy, she has the maturity of those with her level of intellect. The times that her youth really shows is when she is dealing with things she cant prevent from happening. Though it was fun and interesting to see her in action when she needs to help someone, whether it is a fellow student or the man that she loves. Her passion for medicine shows so deeply.  

Then we have Marshall, he is such a fun character. He has that laid back surfer kind of attitude. And his obsession with flip flops is funny... I personally live somewhere that it gets quite cold during the winter and couldn't imagine walking around in the cold weather and snow in only flip flops. 

Though this story has a few moments where you worry and wonder, and well run to grab the box of tissues, but over all it was quit enjoyable and hope you give it a chance.

Happy Reading... Adri

No comments:

Post a Comment